PDA

View Full Version : SCMI minimax Formula T-1 shaper

David Scheckman
12-23-2012, 7:54 AM
Anyone know anything about the Formula T-1 shaper? I can see a few around online but not many. Its probably mid 90's. Can't quite tell how it fits in with the other SCMI shapers, T-110 and T-130. The asking price is $3650 with 3 sizes of spindles and some misc cutters. 9 hp motor. Looks pretty clean, but definitely used. I have a pending (quickly) project where I need a shaper more capable then my Delta 3hp. I'll have to deal with phase conversion, might just go with a static converter for the short run so I can get it up and running quickly, seems like resulting 6hp would be a lot more capable then my current 3hp Delta. Any advice or comments appreciated.
David

Peter Quinn
12-23-2012, 9:29 AM
I have no experience with that particular Minimax but have a smaller 5hp t-40 in my shop, and it's a heck of a lot more machine than a delta HD. The Minimax line was not made in Italy , or at least lots of the parts weren't, but made under close supervision just across the border in eastern Europe, Albania maybe? Generally Italian motors (very good) and Italian switches(less good but ok ). Probably not as stout as a t-110, but I'd bet it's close. Looks like a smaller table, smaller overall foot print, probably thinner castings. The t-40 for instance has a hunk of iron mounted in the cabinet down low to add mass, and it does, but that's not the same thing as heavier castings. They were the small shop alternative to the full industrial build of the scmi main line, which were more of a multi shift industrial production build.

Stephen Cherry
12-23-2012, 11:44 AM