PDA

View Full Version : What to do ...

Michael Wildt
12-21-2012, 10:17 AM
My father in law has a chair where the finish have started to peel off a bit. Its only on one spot on the arm rest, the rest appears fine. I'm far from an expert in finishes so I'm not fully sure what would be the best way to proceed.

Since it is a store bought chair, Peter Grant I believe, I bet they sprayed it with some catalyst finish. Can't tell if the clear coat is colored or the wood was stained first.

How to proceed making sure it wont get worse ?

Todd Burch
12-21-2012, 11:01 AM
"How to make sure it doesn't get worse?" Don't touch the chair? ;)

It appears the chair gets some amount of use, as edge of the wood seems to have a bit of wear on it. The finish doesn't look too thick, and it appears a stain was used prior to the finish (as opposed to a tinted finish being used). You may be lucky in this regard, as you can re-coat the arm without having to re-stain.

How well does the remaining finish around the chipping adhere? You can use a piece of clear tape to test. Just stick clear tape to the finish and pull it back off, looking to see if any finish comes off.

You best approach is probably to make a plan to refinish the failing finish.

Michael Wildt
12-21-2012, 10:08 PM
The existing clear coat sticks good to the wood. It does seems a little brittle so it may not be a poly. Any precaution we should take when adding a poly on top ? I was suggesting to sand it a bit so new coat could adhere better, but not really the affected area since the stain could end up being sanded off. Then wipe with a mineral damp rag or similar, then use an oil based poly.

Does that make sense or am I complete off target here ?

George Gyulatyan
12-27-2012, 4:53 PM