PDA

View Full Version : Working with Raw Timber

Ken Louis
12-18-2012, 9:51 PM
I've never worked with raw timber before. Had a couple questions I was hoping someone could help me with.

Just had a large maple(??) tree professionally cut down in our backyard a week or so ago. Really wanted to save the trunk, but it was just too large and cumbersome. The 3 sections I saved are all approx. 12" in diameter, 7-9 ft. in length, and reasonably straight (see pics below).

I'd like to cut this timber into some usable raw lumber. Is there a how-to guide or a link that someone could refer me to that may go into some detail on how to do it?

FWIW, I have a 17" 2 hp bandsaw, 14" planer, 10" 1 1/2 hp table saw, and 6" jointer. Is this too much of a project for the relatively light-duty equipment I have?

Thoughts? Opinions?

Thanks!

(??) Anybody have any idea what kind of maple this is?

Kevin Bourque
12-18-2012, 9:54 PM
You're going to have to get it cut up somehow. Do you have a truck? You could take them to a sawmill of theres one nearby.

Richard Coers
12-18-2012, 11:11 PM