PDA

View Full Version : Face Frame Help Needed...

Derek Arita
12-18-2012, 9:33 PM
OK...I've never done this kind of face frame before, so I have a question...the frame is mounting to a typical kitchen-type cabinet. Doors will mount to it and they will be probably overlay type doors. The frame is slightly over sized and will not be flush with the cabinet sides, top or bottom. I want to use biscuits to join face frame to cabinet. Exactly how to I mark and cut the biscuit slots in the frame? The slots in the cabinet sides, top and bottom will be simple as marking and cutting, but I'm not sure about the frame slots.

Bill Neely
12-18-2012, 11:17 PM
If I understand you correctly the face frame will overhang the outside of the cabinet. If that's right, measure the width of the face frame and subtract the width of the cabinet. 1/2 of that measurement plus whatever setting you use for the cabinet will be the setting for cutting the face frame slots. Do the same with top and bottom. All that is assuming that you want an equal amount of overlap on each side.

Chris Rosenberger
12-19-2012, 8:25 AM
I lay the face frame on the front of the cabinet, get the overhangs correct, put pencil marks on the face frame, at the outside corners of the cabinet box. I put marks on the face frame & cabinet box at each buicuit location. I remove the face frame, use a straight edge to connect the corner pencil marks on the face frame. I then use the bottom face of the biscuit jointer as a register point. The bottom face of the biscuit jointer would be set flush with the outside of the cabinet box & it would be set even with the line on the face frame.

For any edges that are flush, I just flush the bottom of the jointer to all edges.

Sam Murdoch
12-19-2012, 9:29 AM