PDA

View Full Version : Steady rests...

Jeffrey J Smith
12-18-2012, 5:07 PM
Since there are many here turning hollow forms, big and small, thought I'd pose a question to the group. I hate being long winded, but the question has a few parts...

I'm just getting into turning hollow forms and as I get into larger pieces, recognize the need for a steady rest to help stabilize the form. I've looked into most all the dedicated options out there for full-size lathes (for a Robust AB25) and finding more choices than I had thought.

The dedicated rests made by Robust are nicely made, but pretty typical in form, and, for a 25" lathe, imposing pieces of hardware. They would seem to provide the ultimate in safety and support. They're also relatively expensive. I've seen plans to built a traditional hoop style from everything from steel to plywood, and that's very doable. I like making tools and jigs when I've got the time (rarely).

JT Turning Tools has just started selling their SmartSteady that is different (http://jtturningtools.com/node/38 - scroll down a ways to find it), and has the appeal of not interferring at all with a laser. It is two columns - not unlike the OneWay Bowl Steady - mounted to a common clamping block with two wheel assemblies on one column and one on the other. It looks like an interesting option, but it is new on the market. It has the nice feature of being convertible to a bowl steady when needed. Cost is about the same as a dedicated rest.

It got me thinking; I've been contemplating buying a OneWay bowl steady for a while now - wouldn't it be possible to use two of them from opposite sides and achieve the same thing? I asked Kevin at OneWay if it was feasible, and while not outright endorsing the idea, he indicated that "it is very common for people to use two of our steadies together as you suggest." The cost would be less than half of either option above.