PDA

View Full Version : Red Maple Plate: Burned and Dyed

Baxter Smith
12-17-2012, 7:31 PM
At last month’s Chesapeake Wood turners meeting, the daughter of one of the members demonstrated how to use a woodburner and dye to create a landscape scene on a platter. I am no artist but wanted to try something simple on a couple pieces of punky red maple.
9 ¼ x ¾ x 1/8

Thought the leaf could be a bit larger so tried again.

11 x 1 x 1/4

Burned with a writing tip followed by Transtint dyes and Deft rattle can lacquer (along with my signature orange peel).:)

Not sure yet who is going to get stuck with them this Christmas!

Comments and suggestions are always welcome.

Roger Chandler
12-17-2012, 8:04 PM
The addition of the pyro and color really adds to these pieces......I might have to give that a go sometimes Baxter......yours were pretty inspiring and the simple writing tip is a plus for someone who hasn't acquired all those burner tips yet.

Steve Mawson
12-17-2012, 9:33 PM
I do like the larger leaf for sure. Makes for a very nice picture

Bernie Weishapl
12-17-2012, 11:17 PM
Great piece Baxter. I do like the larger pyro better.

Doug W Swanson
12-17-2012, 11:51 PM
They are both very nice. I think the wood is good enough to have been left alone but the artwork adds a nice touch. Certainly not over powering but a great addition to the pieces!

Kathy Marshall
12-18-2012, 12:15 AM
2 very nice pieces Baxter! Great job on the burning and coloring and I like the forms.

Leo Van Der Loo
12-18-2012, 12:38 AM
I tried some "painting" at one time, well you got me beat by a quarter mile Baxter, nice plates though, oh maybe, well..... I bet they where nice before as well :o

Baxter Smith
12-18-2012, 8:47 AM
Thanks for commenting, I appreciate it. The leaf was traced using transfer paper, then burned and shaded. Coloring within the lines completed the illusion of me being an artist.;):)

Peter Blair
12-18-2012, 9:33 AM