PDA

View Full Version : A program I did not know existed

Doug Griffith
12-14-2012, 11:48 AM
CorelCAD
http://www.corel.com/corel/product/index.jsp?pid=prod4120067

I'm an Illustrator on Mac guy. That's where most of my 2D work is done. Cadtools helps out with some needed features and quick and dirty dimensioning.

I'm also a CAD guy. Most of my 3D work is roughed out in Ashlar Cobalt on the Mac. I then jump over to SolidWorks via Bootcamp when work gets serious.

What I'm always looking for are new CAD tools on the Mac. I tried an early demo of AutoCAD and the interface didn't jive with me. I also beta tested Rhino but since I work in Solidworks I found it weak by comparison. I probably should have given both more effort. TurboCAD, SharkFX, and Concepts 3D are all based on the same Kernel as Ashlar so not much point there.

Well, I just found CorelCAD and it runs on the Mac as well. It's time to load the demo and put it through it's paces. The website says that the Mac version won't import .CDR files but I'm hoping it will.

The big daddy of CAD on Mac is Siemens NX. It's what Apple uses. The problem is that you need Apple's bank account to purchase it. Not for mere mortals.

Oh, and for you PC users, CorelCAD runs on your platform as well!

Mary Geitz
12-14-2012, 1:41 PM
Hi Doug: