PDA

View Full Version : Radiation with a Class 4

Jiten Patel
12-11-2012, 8:38 AM
Hey all,

I have been using our class 4 galvo for almost 2 years now. In that time, I have never worn safety glasses and there is no enclosure for the laser beam. I have been doing some reading about Radiation and class 4 lasers and thought I would see if anyone could shed any more light on this subject.

I know that on the regular laser-engravers you have your safety plexi lid which shields all/most of the radiation but on our open laser, does this pose a threat. If it does, how worried should I be?

The reason I ask, if I believe I am allergic to the dust caused by our work. I have cracked and dry hands due to it, but it got me thinking that maybe the deflected radiation may have something to do with this. Just want to know I am not slowly killing myself!!!

Thanks

Jit

john banks
12-11-2012, 8:45 AM
Presumably the manufacturer advise on this with warning labels, guards, interlocks, shields etc?

I would have thought it should be enclosed if it is a CO2 laser, class 4, even low power deflection could blind you. Do you have your hands near it whilst operating?

What dust are you producing and does it give you a reaction anywhere else other than your hands?

I'm a general practitioner BTW, but I have never treated a case of laser injury.

Jiten Patel
12-11-2012, 9:01 AM
Hi John,

Warning labels yes - interlocks yes, but these are optional and are not installed. No shields.

Sometimes hands go near the beam as it finishes it's cycle, so swap the piece out for the next.

The dust being produced is from cutting paper/card. Docs seems to think it's an allergy and got me on steroidal cream which is working, but not something I want to use forever. I wear cotton gloves now, but they are not great.

More worried about my eyes - not getting hit by a direct beam, but scattered radiation and long term effects.

john banks
12-11-2012, 9:08 AM