PDA

View Full Version : Business insurance

Mike Cruz
12-05-2012, 4:15 PM
I'm a hobby woodworker by definition. I do it because I like it. I give my stuff away. Lately, there has been interest in my stuff...in a "paying" way. So, why not, right?

Well, right now, my 24 x 30 detatched shop is covered under my home owner's insurance policy. According to my insurance company, if I sell ANYTHING that I've made (via the shop), I am a business, and that building and my tools and any liability would not be covered. So, I asked for a quote. Basically, it would be around $1000 per year for property and liablility. I figured the shop was about $25-30K and equipment/tools/etc in the shop are about $20-25K. I simply can't afford to have a fire, or a tree fall on top of the shop in a rain storm, or a 4 foot snow to collapse the roof, or whatever...destroying everything. I don't have $45-60K to replace it all.

As much as I'd love to sell my stuff, that's a lot of sales just to cover my insurance costs...let alone cost of materials and a little in my pocket.

So, my question is: Who do you use for your business insurance? About what do you pay? And what are you getting for what you pay?

I realize that there are those that throw caution to the wind. They don't get insurance. They think "no one will ever know" or "how can they prove anything" or whatever they come up with to convince themselves that it'll be okay to do it sneakingly. I'm not one of those people.

So, I'd like to hear what those who have insurance have to say. Thanks!

Lee Koepke
12-05-2012, 4:32 PM
I have a business rider on my homeowners, its not terribly expensive and I cannot recall the exact cost now. It covers my basement shop, the tools/equipment to a stated dollar limit, and general liability for when I go to craft shows. As a rule, I carry an umbrella policy that would cover excess over the small limits of my policy.