PDA

View Full Version : How much do I need.

Mark H Anderson
12-02-2012, 1:15 PM
Morning all. I am just starting to get back into wood working (as a hobbyist) after a 35+_yr break. I've tackled the table saw issue and I'm looking to add a drill press and band saw to the collection. I'm pretty sure I'll go used on both these items as I kinda shot the wad on the T/S.
The question is this. As a hobbyist, I'm thinking the biggest thing I'll be doing is 8 or 10 sets of chair legs on the band saw and a bunch of mortising on the drill press. How much HP and bells and whistles do I need. I realize more is better but with a restricted budget do I need all the goodies? Your thoughts please.
Thank you
Mark

Joe Angrisani
12-02-2012, 2:06 PM
.....I realize more is better but with a restricted budget do I need all the goodies?....

Not at all. I'd look for a used 14" clone bandsaw, like the Grizzly 0555 family. And some kind of 16-17" drill press with little or no slop when you try to rock the chuck. (perhaps a Jet 17"). A few, maybe $400 for the saw, and well under $200 for the drill press.

Now the Mustard Yellow guys came chime in and insist on $1800 saws and $2000 drill presses.... ;)

Mark Ashmeade
12-02-2012, 2:25 PM
Not at all. I'd look for a used 14" clone bandsaw, like the Grizzly 0555 family. And some kind of 16-17" drill press with little or no slop when you try to rock the chuck. (perhaps a Jet 17"). A few, maybe $400 for the saw, and well under $200 for the drill press.

Now the Mustard Yellow guys came chime in and insist on $1800 saws and $2000 drill presses.... ;)

I've got a Powermatic jointer, planer and just sold a couple of PM table saws. So I am definitely a mustard yellow guy.