PDA

View Full Version : Cork floor in workshop?

Keith Avery
11-29-2012, 9:15 PM
I have been working on my shop a little at a time for about 2 years. Walls are finally painted and I am maybe 10 hours from having the drop ceiling and all lighting done. The last step before I start permanently moving machines in is the floor. It is currently a concrete slab. I was planning on putting an epoxy down, but have been thinking I might try cork. I need about 750 sqft and have found a source at about 2.50 per sqft. I have cork in my kitchen and think it is the most comfortable flooring product made. It seems pretty durable and while it comes prefinish more polyurethane can be added. I will do mostly woodworking and some restoration work on old machines in the shop. I have 3 pieces of equipment that each approach one ton(old big iron). These won't be moved often. I am pretty tall and am planning to keep most of the shop equipment on pallets, built to fit just right, to move when needed. I am thinking I would either clean all the pallet jack wheels carefully once the floor is in or maybe even wrap them in thin felt. Sandblasting, grinding, and painting will probably be done in the unfinshed part of the barn. What do you think? It is warm to walk on, great on the knees, absorbs sound well, and really reduces breaking from drops. My only major concern is tearing it up with the weight of some of the owwm.

Bas Pluim
11-29-2012, 9:44 PM
I'd go for it. Much, much better than a concrete floor. And cork is pretty tough too. So what if you ding it here and there when you move heavy machinery. If it gets really bad you can always put in a patch.

Thomas Bank
11-29-2012, 9:58 PM
I had looked into it for my shop and ended up the same as you being concerned about the weight of the machinery. However, keeping the equipment on pallets will distribute the load much better. Maybe get a sample of the cork and put it under one of your machines for a week to see how much it compresses?