PDA

View Full Version : Something totally different

Dave Mueller
11-29-2012, 10:45 AM
I got a Vermec sphere turning jig and therefore was obliged to turn a sphere and this is my first attempt. Wasn't sure exactly what to do with a sphere, so this is what I came up with. It is 12" tall and the sphere is 5" in diameter. The base is jatoba finished with CA. The sphere is poplar, covered with dutch metal and patinated. In hindsight, the top ring is too bulky and should have been a little more delicate. However, I wasn't sure how strong it needed to be. Any suggestions for improvements would be appreciated, although I'll probably never make another one.
Dave

Allan Ferguson
11-29-2012, 11:03 AM
Pretty neat!

James Combs
11-29-2012, 11:16 AM
Definitely out of the box. Fit and finish look excellent, well executed. Reminds me of a nice trophy of some kind.

Michelle Rich
11-29-2012, 11:37 AM
I think it looks great..very appealing colors/match will look good on your braggin' shelves

Ted Calver
11-29-2012, 11:40 AM
Very nice! Looks like a globe.

Roger Chandler
11-29-2012, 11:53 AM
Proportionately, I think you got the dimmensions just about right.......it does not look top heavy, and the symmetry between the base and top ring are good.........if anything perhaps the columns could have been just a tad thinner.......that would have nailed it in my opinion.

Very nice work on the sphere and the patination is beautifully done!

Thom Sturgill
11-29-2012, 12:35 PM
I think maybe the stand is too tall.
It was easy to play with the height to see what it would look like. Lifting the sphere is a GOOD idea, but visually I think your stand has too much weight. Thinning might help, but changing the height works also. the idea would be to get the overall height, including the sphere, to work as a vertical golden rectangle, while the base alone makes a horizontal golder rectangle. Good job on the turning and finish for the ball and stand.

Doug W Swanson
11-29-2012, 1:09 PM