PDA

View Full Version : Another jigsaw question

David Linahan
11-28-2012, 10:16 PM
Hi, I'm new to both this forum and using a laser. I'm quite enjoying both at the moment, although the laser causes a few wrinkled brows at times. I've tried searching for an answer to my question before I bore you all with a dumb question,,,but no luck in finding the right answer yet. I have been trying to figure out how to cut jigsaws from 3mm or 6mm MDF without "singe" marks around the edges of the cuts. I have been gluing injet prints onto the MDF using either PVA or Spray adhesive. By messing about with different settings I can get almost reasonable results..but not good enough. I know it can be done...because of the amount of professionally laser cut jigsaws available. So far though...I seem to wind up with lots of precision cut rubbish...http://www.sawmillcreek.org/images/smilies/eek.gif
Btw I have an Epilog 50w Zing with the rotary attachment. I have had good results with glass engraving and cutting acrylic...but, alas...I really want to make jigsaws for the Australian market. Any and all help greatly appreciated.

Dave...

Rich Harman
11-29-2012, 12:28 AM
A powerful air assist will help a great deal in reducing residue when cutting MDF.

Mike Null
11-29-2012, 6:18 AM
Welcome to SMC. Try reducing the PPI and even make two passes at lower power if necessary.

Joe Pelonio
11-29-2012, 8:00 AM
Rather than using paper, if you print onto a polyester based adhesive backed plastic film, you can apply transfer tape before cutting and avoid this problem. That's what I use for my puzzles and have no problems whether on MDF, birch ply or acrylic.