PDA

View Full Version : Basic clamp set?

Rob Dickson
11-28-2012, 2:55 PM
G'Day all,

As a new woodworker I'm slowly putting together my tool kit. While I have some clamps already, they have been more of the construction type clamps (Irwin quick grips, "C" clamps) that I've used during home renovations, etc. Now that I'm progressing towards more "fine" woodworking I'm looking at collecting some dedicated clamps...can anyone suggest a "basic" set that is commonly used? Just wondering the pros and cons of pipe clamps vs. K body clamps and the most common sizes used. I'm not even sure what to look for in a quality clamp! Any advice is appreciated....

Thanks!

Bill Houghton
11-28-2012, 3:17 PM
My clamps are assembled, by and large, from yard sales; so my experience may not be much help.

Two to four pipe clamps.
Bar clamps in several lengths (12", 24"), a few each.
When you can afford them, a couple of handscrews in the No. 0 size (jaws 8" long, 4" opening)
Some spring clamps like those pictured below, 2" and 3". It's painfully hard to say this, because I prefer buying quality, but 99 cent plastic clamps are better than the steel ones, by and large - they are less likely to mark the work. If you're clamping narrow strips, like some moldings, though, the steel clamps have their place - plastic clamps tend to have swivel jaws that slip off narrow work.

The saying is you can never have too many clamps, and that's probably true to some degree. But you will find you use some clamps a lot more than others.