PDA

View Full Version : Need to get a grip!

Biff Johnson
11-27-2012, 4:29 PM
Hope you seasoned turners have some advice for me.

For some reason, I find myself gripping the tools tighter and tighter. It is a totally unconscious act and not because of tool jumping, catching or anything. The only thing I can think of is I do have chronic tennis elbow and perhaps it is a symptom of that or maybe just because I am a beginner turner although I've been doing it long enough to feel comfortable with the tools.

Any thoughts?

Scott Hackler
11-27-2012, 4:37 PM
I think it's the latter. I was teaching a turner how to hollow an end grain HF and even though he had been turning for a few years, I thought he was going to leave permanent finger prints in the handle of my hollower! It was part fear of a catch and part being quite uncomfortable with this new (to him) turning method. He told me at our next meeting that he hadn't tried it at home yet, which confirmed to me that he was not very comfortable with hollowing yet.

When I started I did EVERYTHING wrong. I taught myself how to turn using youtube videos and too much trial and error. It probably took me a year before I stopped grabbing the tool handles like I was hanging off it while dangling off a bridge!

Your unconcious grip should loosen up as you become more confortable with the cuts and tool presentation.

Biff Johnson
11-27-2012, 4:45 PM
I should say that it seems to happen the longer my turning session is. I start out just fine and I will have changed tools, etc. then eventually my elbow is tired and I notice I've got a death grip on the handle!

Scott Hackler
11-27-2012, 4:53 PM