PDA

View Full Version : The red dot question

John Finnegan
11-20-2012, 9:33 PM
Ok, folks, does the through-lens red dot reduce the power of the laser?

According to my vendor, yes it does, and I should choose the head mounted red dot.

Need an answer soon, please.

What say you, sawmill creek users?

Thanks,
John

Gary Hair
11-20-2012, 11:06 PM
Absolutely not, but I'd sure like to hear his reasoning!

According to my vendor, yes it does, and I should choose the head mounted red dot.
Time to find a new vendor.

Gary

John Finnegan
11-20-2012, 11:13 PM
For the through-lens red pointer: According to my vendor, the through-style 'gold' mirror will be required next to the laser tube and will reduce the power of the 100W tube somewhat.
Conceptually this makes some sense, but I'm new at this so I thought I should check.

Thanks for your reply,
John

Rich Harman
11-20-2012, 11:23 PM
Since the only way to get a red dot laser to be coincident with the CO2 laser is to place a mirror in the beam path, there will be some power lost as the CO2 beam passes through that mirror.

Does it make a difference? I think that is going to depend upon the quality of the beam combiner, and personal preference.

Rodne Gold
11-21-2012, 12:39 AM
We removed the red dot thru the laser path mirror as it was causing some issue with the diode itself, had a meaningful increase in cutting speed etc , removed it on our other chinese machine for an increase as well..approx 10% faster.
I think the red dot is somewhat a "frill" , the nozzle shows where the laser is going to fire . However the red beam , if aligned 100%, IS useful for alignment and maybe for positioning but its not a deal breaker for me. We don't care about autofocus or red beams....in ALL our lasers...
What you have to be careful of if mounting the diode at the head , is that it doesn't become a mission to remove the nozzle to clean the lens.

Dan Hintz
11-21-2012, 6:39 AM