PDA

View Full Version : HELP in choosing a hollowing system.

Jerry Lear
11-20-2012, 12:16 PM
I am new to hollowing but not to turning & I have a Vicmarc 300 w/21" between center. I would like to buy a hollowing system that would allow me to grow with it & not have to worry about buying another one in the future. I have done some research & the ones that stand out to me are Kobra, Monster, Gizmo, and the new Carter.

I know the Carter has about a 7" depth capacity which may be limiting. I looked on U-tube at the Cobra demonstation & it seems to be an extremely well-built machine but I can find very little information about it. I emailed the two fellows who own the company but have not received a reply, as of yet. As far as Monster goes, I can not find any video except for the Monster Mini, which I do not want. The Gizo seems well built but very limited information available.

Given the fact that I have a Vicmarc with a relatively small bed & is also set-up about 18" from the wall, what would you all recommend as a hollower? As I said, I would like to have one that I could grow with & I would like to buy only one as opposed to regretting the first buy.

Appreciate any help. Thanks to all of you.

Jerry

PS - I understand Cobra has a long waiting period. Does anyone know how long?

David Walser
11-20-2012, 1:35 PM
Any of the articulated arm systems, with the possible exception of the Elbo Tool, should work well for you. So, too, would one of the captured bar systems that use a rear rest -- as long as you are willing to build a stand to hold the rear rest. (The problem with the Elbo Tool is that it uses the tail stock for support. Given your short bed, there's not much room left for your blank.)