PDA

View Full Version : Max size shaper cutter and head

David Scheckman
11-17-2012, 1:36 PM
Hi, I'm interested in opinions on the maximum size, both diameter and height for a molding head to run on my 3hp delta shaper. I use a 1hp powermatic feeder. I have both 3/4" and 1 1/4" spindles. I understand that the 1 1/4" spindle is pushing the limits of the shaper and use it carefully with reasonable sized cutters. Our shop is small pro-shop, building cabinets, furniture and supporting our contracting business. I'm a very experienced woodworker but have limited experience with molding oriented work. I've generally used the shaper for cabinet doors and very simple edges, chamfers and corner rounding. I'm interested in both corrugated back style heads and Euro block style. In the case of Euro block whether steel or aluminum is appropriate. Careful setup is a given. I'm not interested in upgrading to a more powerful shaper at this time. Thanks for opinions and advice.
David

Stephen Cherry
11-17-2012, 3:12 PM
Hi, I'm interested in opinions on the maximum size, both diameter and height for a molding head to run on my 3hp delta shaper. I use a 1hp powermatic feeder. I have both 3/4" and 1 1/4" spindles. I understand that the 1 1/4" spindle is pushing the limits of the shaper and use it carefully with reasonable sized cutters. Our shop is small pro-shop, building cabinets, furniture and supporting our contracting business. I'm a very experienced woodworker but have limited experience with molding oriented work. I've generally used the shaper for cabinet doors and very simple edges, chamfers and corner rounding. I'm interested in both corrugated back style heads and Euro block style. In the case of Euro block whether steel or aluminum is appropriate. Careful setup is a given. I'm not interested in upgrading to a more powerful shaper at this time. Thanks for opinions and advice.
David