PDA

View Full Version : Does anybody have specific info on Wilton mini-lathe?

Harry Thornton
04-21-2005, 9:05 PM
I have the specs on it but I don't have the experience to interpret the data. If you are willing to help me please reply or PM me and I will send you the specs. I have no turning experience. I don't know what attaches to what. If I can't get a chuck for this unit it is useless to me. I have never had this much trouble figuring something out in my life. Heck, this is the www era...I can usually figure something out in an hour or less.

Sorry for the whining. Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Harry

Hank Walczak
04-21-2005, 10:02 PM
I don't own one and I suspect you won't want to own one either. I'd guess it's a glorified pen lathe. In other words, save your money and get a Jet mini. More versitile and something you'll want to keep. The specs don't give a spindle size or even if it has any Morse taper. Bed at 12" is really short. In other words it doesn't have much going for it even at $100. If you still want to go frugile (read cheap) look at some of the Harbor Freight units. Some members have had good luck there.

Bruce Shiverdecker
04-21-2005, 11:30 PM
Evenin Harry.
I own both a Jet Mini and a Wilton mini. Other than the size of the motor, the difference in Morris taper, and no hand wheel on the Wilton, both lathes are of similar quality. I use them both for pens and bowls and boxes up to 9" Diameter. The Jet stays in the house because it is heavier and I added an extention. which gives me a working length of about 34". The Wilton is used as a traveling lathe that I take to demonstrations.

I have a Harbor Freight in town and have looked at their lathes, I have yet to see anything there that has ANY quality to it. I'm not against Harbor Freight. I do purchase from them, but only after carefully checking out the item.