PDA

View Full Version : Headstock Alignment Question - Vintage Delta Lathe

Bob Coleman
11-11-2012, 5:23 PM
Hi All,

I'm finishing up cleaning a 1955 Delta Lathe and am re-assembling. There is quite a bit of slop in the bolt holes that attach the headstock to the bed. I'm new to turning and don't know how much the alignment of the headstock matters. Should I attempt to get the spindle axis perfectly parallel to the bed? Does it really matter that much? If I need to align it, how do I go about doing it?

Thanks in advance!

Peter Fabricius
11-11-2012, 7:14 PM
Hi Bob;
"It does matter" If your alignment is off then when you try to drill a hole with the Jacobs chuck in the tailstock you will make an out of round hole.
Your headstock looks like it will be a fixed head. If the bolts are sloppy you might try to put a little sleeve over the bolts as they go through the Lathe ways.
To line everything up put a pointy centre in both the headstock and the tailstock and bring the two close together and adjust as needed. Remember to tighten the tailstock down while you adjust the headstock into perfect alignment.
Good luck.
Peter F.

James Combs
11-11-2012, 7:47 PM