PDA

View Full Version : Catches none stop please help

Bret Schaffner
11-03-2012, 6:48 PM
OK newbie here
been doing spindle work (walking canes) around 8 and bowls from 2" be 1" deep up to 9" by 4" around 8 and some pratice stuff thing were going well for surprisingly for the last 4 months work with pine, birch, holly, ash, and walnut

than all for the sudden last Wednesday a bowl I was working on bowl 9" x 4" every thing had been going great with it over the last few days then had nothing but major catches and blow out the blow sides so I switched to spindle work stuff around 6" long X 2 same thing switch type woods pine , ash, britch, both green and dry did same thing with small bowls none stop MAJOR catches tried 4 different spindle gouges and 3 different blow gouges. sharpened them same thing?????

HELP what I'm I doing or not doing all the sudden???????

ANY and all comments tips are welcome.

Thanks Bret

Steve Schlumpf
11-03-2012, 7:01 PM
Bret... a couple of things immediately come to mind... height of your tool rest and sharpening of your tools. Lots of things lead to catches... such as moving the tool in the wrong direction, cutting too much above or below center and forcing the tool into the wood as opposed to having the tool cut the wood. A little more explanation would help us to narrow down some pertinent advice.

Roger Chandler
11-03-2012, 7:06 PM
One of the best things you could possibly do is to get with experienced members of a turning club and have some one on one mentoring........that will show you correct tool presentation, and help you learn how the different tools cut, and cut your learning curve by miles and miles.

Save yourself mountains of grief, and make the effort.........you will never regret it as long as you have a teachable attitude!

William Bachtel
11-03-2012, 7:13 PM
You need to join a club, and go to the meetings, someone there will help you.

Mark Hubl
11-03-2012, 7:38 PM