PDA

View Full Version : Is there any hope or trick or advise?? Dead leaked Gas from Laser Tubes??

Vicki Rivrud
10-25-2012, 3:14 PM
Hi All,

I need some help or ideas. I thought I had myself covered having 2 150 watt standard glass tubes on the shelf.

The tube I have been using for a couple of years was going strong until sudden death! So I took a new tube off the shelf ( almost 1 -1/2 years old)

and it glows but the beam doesn't exit the tube, tested by holding a piece of paper at the exit. Nothing.

Here a few pics

Does anyone know what the 3 screws are for? they do seem to be glued in place.

One of the tubes seems to just go around in circles around the inner area.

Is it just that the gas is too weak to full emit the beam??

Of course I have work backed up, customers screaming, lost a customer and my new RECI which was suppose to be delivered on Tuesday is MIA.

Any ideas????

Does anyone know the shelf life of the new W series RECI's?

Thanks
Vicki

Dan Hintz
10-25-2012, 6:35 PM
It's likely one of the internal optics has shifted position... consider it a throwaway.

Greg Facer
10-25-2012, 8:21 PM
Hey Vicki,

I feel your pain. my last post on (I think) your forum stated that my W6 was working great.....not so much, tube had a manufacturing defect, gone after 30 minutes of work! (BTW, I can't post there anymore....not sure why, I think I had to re register too. Anyways....)

What I did is buy a coletech 80w tube from ebay and hope to use that while the continuing issues with my main tube get resolved. That is assuming Coletech packs better or pays DHL better than RECI did. $700 shipped. There might be clearance costs with DHL, but since I've paid for clearance on two 150w tubes they busted in transit, I think I'll have enough to yell at them with to waive that.