PDA

View Full Version : Minimax CU 300 Smart Morticing Unit

Dave Novak
10-19-2012, 12:51 AM
Here's my situation: I'm a hobby woodworker working out of my garage. About a year ago I bought the subject combo machine from Minimax at a slight bargain because it was a demo unit. When it arrived the only difference I could tell between it and a new machine was the it was already dialed in perfectly. My dilemma is that I simply don't have room to use the morticing attachment. For example, if I need to put a mortice in the end of a 6' board, I need 6' right of the machine to do that. I just don't have the room. I'm thinking I need a Festool domino for my morticing needs. As far as I can tell the morticing attachment I have has either never been used or was used only by Minimax reps who used it gently. It appears to be brand new. How does one go about selling this? I don't know if there's much of a market, what to price it at, or even what it's really worth. I couldn't even find one on ebay, but I do know it's a pricey addition when buying new. I even have 3 knifes that still have the wax on them. If you had to sell this to justify buying a domino, what would you do? Thanks in advance for your advice.

David Kumm
10-19-2012, 1:14 AM
Register on the Minimax Yahoo group and post it there as well as here. Dave

Mike Heidrick
10-19-2012, 8:56 AM
Make an ad in the swap and sell and the yahoo groups and on other ww forums. Google mortiser instead of morticer and you will see a lot more info. I saw one old ad for the model for the 12"J/P for $1350. You might find if you use the DF500 a lot you could use this mm mortiser for where the DF700 would be needed. should easily be able to find bits to fit the larger dominos of the 700 (or just make them).

Personally I would keep it and just get a 500 domino used.

Mike Ruggeri
10-19-2012, 9:23 AM