PDA

View Full Version : Material options/opinions for Roubo Bench

Russell Dunham
10-17-2012, 9:21 PM
I am a long time lurker here and a first time poster! Woo! I am finally looking into building a nice bench for myself. I generally like to use hand tools whenever I possibly can in my work and as such am potentially looking at a Roubo design (any opinions about this design are welcome as well). I am a poor college student and cannot afford nice hardwood for a workbench. This will be my first real bench as I have not had space for one of my own before that didn't involve old doors and scrap. The moral of my story is that my local box has some lovely Douglas Fir 8 foot 4x6's for $12 a piece (there are 10 footers for $14 or $15 as well). With 6 of these I can have a ~20 inch wide bench at just over 5 inches thick, or 24ish inches wide with 7. Would these be a good a good option for a bench top/bench material or would I be better off with 2x material? Any input would be much appreciated!

Joe A Faulkner
10-17-2012, 9:44 PM
So as a poor college student what tools do you have at your disposal? Are you planning to build this bench exclusively with hand tools? I think that drawing these posts\beams together as you laminate the top is going to be a challenge unless the beams are pretty flat. I trust you have lots of clamps or friends with clamps? Big, beefy clamps. I'd personally go for closer to 24" wide. What length are you contemplating? You realize, moving this bench is going to be a real bear. Not to dissuade you, but at this stage of your life do you really want such a massive bench? You might want to consider something a little less stout that you can break down and transport until you settle down/settle in somewhere. Just something to consider.

Russell Dunham
10-17-2012, 9:51 PM