PDA

View Full Version : HVLP systems -Which one?

Larry Harman
10-12-2012, 11:28 AM
I'm trying to decide between 3 hvlp systems:

Earlex 3500 @ $129.00

Earlex 5500 @ $339.00

Rockler system @ $119.99

I am a hobbyist and will spray 1 or 2 larger pieces a year ( the size of a babybed or blanket chest being the largest) and about 25 small "craft" pieces every Christmas.

Would appreciate any positive or negative experiences you all might have regarding the above, or even other suggestions. (I just can't justify the really nice (but expensive systems like Fuji, etc right now.)

Thanks,

Larry

Scott Holmes
10-12-2012, 2:06 PM
What finishes do you plan to spray?

Larry Harman
10-12-2012, 2:12 PM
Sorry about that...should have thought that would be important. Dye stains, Shellac, Varnish, and an occasional urethane or poly product. Rarely if ever will Ibe using paints. and probably not laquer because of safety issues where I can do this. Thanks/ Larry

Scott Holmes
10-12-2012, 8:08 PM
FYI: poly and urethane ARE varnish. Shellac an dye are no problem with any of the systems you listed.

Varnish can be sprayed but the overspray is a real prblem... The overspray "cloud" gets on everything in the room and then dries to a crusty mess...

Varnish is VERY slow drying and that's what causes the problem. Shellac dries so quickly that the overspray "cloud" lands on surrounding items as a dry dust. Ditto for lacquer; you are correct, it's more hazardous. Varnish isn't as explosive; but it's still not a nice "cloud" either.

Wear a resporator whenever you are spraying.

Curt Harms
10-13-2012, 7:37 AM