PDA

View Full Version : What's the biggest project you ever had?

ralph blanco
10-03-2012, 11:01 PM
Hi everyone!

A question is bothering me here: How big is big? How would you describe a huge build?

I'm working on a dining table right now and I consider it big, considering that I'm new to woodworking.

How about you? What's the biggest project you ever had?

Todd Burch
10-03-2012, 11:03 PM
I built out a 15' x 17' study. Cherry and walnut everything, from baseboards to ceiling beams. Took 6 months.

Jay Jolliffe
10-04-2012, 4:27 PM
My house. Two story Cape design. 2,000 sq ft....took 2 yrs & still not done...About 90 percent done. When work gets slow I do a little more...

Larry Browning
10-04-2012, 5:01 PM
I too am working on a big dining table. It is a 6ft diameter round table. It is not so much the size of the thing it is the challenge/difficulty level that has me going. I am attempting many techniques that I have never done before. I think if it were rectangular I wouldn't even be worried about it. If I manage to get the top done, which is the main thing I have been working on, I then have to figure out how to make a circular apron for it, then I have to make these massive leg assemblies. On top of all that, this is one that I designed myself (with lots of help for Dave Richards). So I don't have detailed instructions on construction techniques. Plus, the materials are really expensive and it will be pretty costly if I screw it up and have to buy more.

Mike Henderson
10-04-2012, 5:04 PM
My wife says that I'm the biggest project she ever had. It's still too early to know if she's going to say the project was a success.

Mike

Kevin Groenke
10-04-2012, 8:52 PM
I'm currently working on a sculpture with Jason Hackenwerth that is ~10' x 10' x 28' comprised of 38) 4x8 sheets of 3/4 ply cnc cut into 363 individual parts, all dry fit joinery, no fasteners. Aside from construction projects I've had a hand in, this will be the largest single piece I've fabricated.