PDA

View Full Version : Some questions about cabinets

Tyler Nixon
10-03-2012, 6:29 PM
Hey guys (and gals),

So my mom just bought a new house. She pretty much hated everything about the interior so my dad and I are in charge of fixing that. Of course.

I have a fair amount of woodworking experience, so I am in charge of the cabinets. I've never built cabinets before but know I can do a great job.

My question is about the height of the countertop. In the kitchen she just wants solid granite. In the laundry/utility room she wants to buy a prefabricated countertop from one of the big home improvement stores.

So I went to one, and measured the countertops they have. They all seem to be 3/4" thick with another 3/4" overhang, resulting in a 1 1/2" appearance.

Everywhere I've been reading says to build the cabinets 34-1/2" high so that with the countertop it is 36". This is where I am going a little crazy.

Could someone please break this down for me? If I'm building it 34 and 1/2", plus 3/4" is only 35-1/4". I've read that people put a sheet of 3/4" plywood on top to mount the countertop to, but since I've never done this I don't know how that would look. Is this standard? I have installed crappy prefabricated cabinets before with those countertops and didn't put any plywood on top.

I'm just not sure why everything says to make them 34 1/2" to account for the 1 1/2" of countertop, if the countertop is only actually 3/4"?

And for the kitchen countertops, if she wants solid granite, we just have to make sure it's 1 1/2"? or 1 1/4" and compensate by making the cabinets 34 3/4"?

I've been designing the cabinets and just don't really know how far down to start the first drawer. Any advice? I know I just rambled a lot and spouted a lot of numbers, but if someone could help me out and send me in the right direction that would be GREATLY appreciated! I just don't want to start buying lumber and cutting and assembling just to find out I've been doing it all wrong.