PDA

View Full Version : A question on the AFD bow armed Morris chair plan

Cynthia Standley
09-26-2012, 10:02 PM
Hi everyone,

I lurk on occasion to find an answer to a question. This time the posts on Morris chairs are a little overwhelming, so hope you don't mind if I ask this one. I am a beginner/intermediate and this is my first real piece of furniture. I have built a bench and shed, etc.

So, the plans show a rail that measures 27 3/8 from end of tenon to end of tenon. The direction booklet has a cut list that shows the rail as 28 inches. The FWW article shows the rail at 28 inches also. Should I just follow the plan and assume the cut list is wrong? Is that a rough cut? I imagine there are errors in plans all the time, but being new to this I don't want to make that assumption.

Thanks for any help.

Cindy

Ralph Boumenot
09-27-2012, 6:10 AM
I would go with the longest dimension. It's easier to take off rather than add. Another way is my preferred way - take your measurements directly off what you are making.

glenn bradley
09-27-2012, 8:33 AM
As Ralph said. You don't really want to just make parts from a cut list IMHO. Making all the parts ahead of time and then expecting them to go together could make you unhappy. I make connecting parts like stretchers and chair rails to fit the piece as I go. That is; cut your part oversize and then fit it to the piece. Another example; if I was making a bookcase I would make the sides, top and bottom. I would dry-assemble this carcass and then make my shelf measurements from that.

Dan Land
09-27-2012, 10:24 PM
I have the California Bow Arm plan (with the tapered legs). I'm not sure if this is the same as yours or not (they have several bow arm plans). I've made two out of ambrosia maple with walnut legs and they look gorgeous.