PDA

View Full Version : Emergency stop

Mike Cruz
09-26-2012, 1:21 PM
I'm putting together a lathe, and am considering adding an EMERGENY STOP button. Anyone have any recommendations on one? Thanks.

Tim Rinehart
09-26-2012, 2:42 PM
Hey Mike, the Grizzly H8241 is a decent value for a paddle type emergency stop when wired directly into the motor circuit as it can handle the loads per the rating for your lathe project. If you have relays with lower voltage, an alternative may be a magnetic switch like their H8240 that needs to be reset after a power loss, inherently safer in that the lathe can't start back on its own without resetting the switch. I'm not an electrical expert, so I can't offer too much more, but I'm sure someone will.

Alan Trout
09-26-2012, 2:48 PM
I have a foot switch for my Robust AB. It is fantastic to have when hollowing and both hands are busy. It was an option for the lathe that I would recommend for anyone considering an American Beauty. The Vicmarc's have a knee bar which is also pretty cool. I like having stop buttons that I do not have to use my hands.

Alan

Jim Underwood
09-26-2012, 3:05 PM
Both Rockler and Woodworkers Supply carry a paddle style stop switch.

Mike Cruz
09-26-2012, 3:42 PM
As usual, I start a thread without enough info... sorry. I've got a 2 hp 3 phase motor that will be running off of a VFD. I found a foot pedal, but you plug a 110 into it. That won't work. I like the idea of a foot pedal, but it would need to work with either the VFD (which might be able to do low voltage, not sure how that works), or work with 3 phase, but I think that is less likely.

Tim, I'll look at those two options. I think I've already seen them, but I'll look again.