PDA

View Full Version : Which prepaid cellular plans and smart phone?

Michael Weber
09-26-2012, 1:09 AM
Seems to be lots of them. T-mobile/Verison/Boost/Net 10/Straight Talk/AT&T/Cricket etc. For unlimited talk/text/data, prices seem to be around 50 dollars a month or so and a few bucks more if you choose an iphone plan. A couple with limited minutes and data are less. Decent phones (according to online reviews with 4 stars or better) start at about 130 dollars for an Android model or 400 for a 8 gig iPhone 4. It's also possible to spend iPhone bucks for a top of the line Android. I also note that there are a lot of "Unlocked" models (Android and iPhone) for sale on eBay. Also GSM models vs some other kind I can't recall the initials for. The choices are frankly overwhelming:confused: I have no experience with smart phones to help with the choice between an iPhone/Android locked/unlocked, GSM/???? model. Anyone recommend a particular prepaid provider? The provider must have no roaming charges when out of service area (note that a couple say they have no roaming charges when actually they simply do not allow roaming:rolleyes:.) And which phone? iPhone or Android and locked(provider supplied) or unlocked (independently purchased?) I will need Bluetooth connectivity for hearing aids. Other than that I'm not sure what else I should get. I suppose a larger screen/faster processor is always good but don't know if there is a real world difference between a 3.2 inch vs a 4 inch screen. Don't want a keyboard, slider or otherwise. Thanks for any input. Mike

Myk Rian
09-26-2012, 6:28 AM
There's a real world difference between a 4" and a 4.8" screen.

I have the new Samsung GS3 with Verizon. It's an Android phone.
It is a larger phone, but you can actually read the screen. It will slide into a shirt pocket, but I use a holster.
I've never owned anything Apple, so have no experience with the iPhone. But I am tired of