PDA

View Full Version : What would you Build?

Victor Stearns
09-21-2012, 8:46 PM
Greetings Creekers,
So here's the deal. I am a full time engineer who has spent the last 12-yrs getting my bachelor degree in mechanical engineering. I know BORING!
Anyway, one of my last two classes will be Senior Design. You spend one semester working up a design and the second semester building it. Some of the past projects are remakes on something that already exists. Thus it does not have to be a totally new idea, maybe just an improvement. i.e. different material, different method to manufacture.
While there are a great number of ideas, nothing that strikes my fancy.
Being a die-hard saw dust maker, I thought, "What can I build that would benefit me and my hobby/passion? and maybe even others?"

So chime in and let's see what we think.
Thanks,
Victor

Stephen Cherry
09-21-2012, 9:44 PM
Victor, I also got an engineering degree the slow way so I sure would like to help, but I am drawing a blank. Are there any more constraints as to what would make a good project? Maybe some composite laminations of wood and aluminum sheet for furniture or storage? Some other variation on materials that would allow an interesting design? Dynamic properties of speaker box material and assembly?

Matt Day
09-21-2012, 9:49 PM
How about a sliding TS attachment that's simple and accurate? Possibly made out of easily attainable materials (mcmaster, 20/20, etc).

Paul Sikorski
09-21-2012, 10:15 PM
Hmm. What about a self centering slot cutter. A special device for testing the fail point of different wood joints. Or a humidity gauge using the wood movement.

Andrew Howe
09-21-2012, 10:49 PM
I vote for the sliding table saw attachment . Then share the build and plans on the creek so.we.can make one as well

Jamie Buxton
09-21-2012, 11:43 PM