PDA

View Full Version : Latex on furniture

Karen Pinkerton
09-18-2012, 10:19 AM
I'm a real novice at this so please bear with me. I'm making a set of bunk beds for the g-kids (twin over double). I originally planned to use alkaloid paint but was worried about the yellowing. I bought Behr Premium Plus Hi-Gloss Enamel and have already painted the head and foot boards.

After reading several threads about latex paints this morning I’m now really worried about it drying hard enough to withstand a beating from a 7 and 5 yr old. :eek:

Is there any way to salvage this without sanding down to the bare wood? It has many slats and painting was bad enough without having to sand and paint again.

Any help would be appreciated.

Sam Murdoch
09-18-2012, 10:48 AM
I can't comment on the specifics of Behr paint but generally speaking, quality latex paint that has been applied over a well prepared and primed wood surface and allowed to dry properly before being placed into hard service (which depending on humidity could be at least 72 hours to 7 days) is a good durable finish. Yes there are definitely harder finishes but the great aspect of latex is how easy it is to repair. You may need to touch up rails and headboards after in the future but you should never need to sand and repaint slats. Then again with a 7 and a 5 year old you probably should have built the bed with galvanized iron pipe :rolleyes:.

Karen Pinkerton
09-18-2012, 11:35 AM
Thanks Sam! That makes me feel better. I did prime and prepare the wood properly. I also just realized the paint is 100% acrylic which should help. I plan to let it dry for at least 2 weeks.

Karen

Casey Gooding
09-19-2012, 5:24 PM
If you have spray equipment, you can always spray a few coats of lacquer over the paint once it has dried. I have done this quite a few times and have had good luck with it.

John TenEyck
09-19-2012, 8:52 PM