PDA

View Full Version : Not being a chemist !! Can someone check the MSDS sheet?

Bill Cunningham
09-12-2012, 12:27 PM
I have a potential customer that wants some pre-molded parts engraved. The picture image they sent me shows a slight colour change in the orange plastic when engraved. This caught my attention, as most plastic don't change colour when engraved. Attached is the MSDS sheet for this material. The sheet says It gives off 'irritating' fumes when burnt(irritating fumes are never good news).. I have no background in chemistry, so a look see by someone that knows what their doing would help tremendously in whether I accept this job, or not! The .pdf is attached

Thanks..

Mike Null
09-12-2012, 12:40 PM
Bill
Here's what I get.

Chronic Effects of Exposure
For Product: BAYBLEND T85 XF 000000
Not expected to cause any adverse chronic health effects.
Carcinogenicity:
No Carcinogenic substances as defined by IARC, NTP and/or OSHA

Matt Turner (physics)
09-12-2012, 12:53 PM
It looks like it's a proprietary polycarbonate/ABS blend. The MSDS does say that phenol, styrene, and acrylonitrile can be released by burning, each of which appears to be pretty nasty in sufficient quantities (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phenol#Toxicity, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Styrene#Health_effects, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acrylonitrile#Health_effects), but these are all likely given off by ABS and polycarbonate by themselves, so if you're okay with engraving those then this material should be okay.

Disclaimer: I'm a physicist, not a chemist :)

John Noell
09-12-2012, 3:12 PM