PDA

View Full Version : A Stanley #5

Ethan Liou
09-09-2012, 9:02 AM
This is my first post on SMC. I am kind of nervous.

OK. I was looking at some pics of a vintage #5 toady. Due to my very limited experience on this subject, I have no idea how to date this plane, or how much it's worth, or is it even restorable. Considering I am living in Taiwan, where vintage tools are rare, I really don't want this opportunity to slip.

I am a newbie woodworker. Right now, the only three bench planes that I have:
1. stanley #4 (plastic tote, 8+ years old, bought it brand new)
2. veritas LAJ
3. veritas BU jointer

If you were in my place, would you consider this plane? and for what price?
I need your advice. Any thoughts is welcome.

Archie England
09-09-2012, 9:28 AM
Welcome to the SMCreek!

Everything looks solid (= has good bones) on this plane but there's plenty of cleaning to be done. As to type, it's later than the 11,12, or 13s but without seeing the frog, I'm not sure of the date--but looks pre-WW2. Cleaned, tuned, sharpened, and looking ready to go, these can fetch around $45 (sometimes more/less). As is, well, that's anybody's guess. IMO, $20 avg. If you can get it for $15 or less, that would be great; once at $25+, you've paid perhaps all it's worth; and, you won't know its worth until you do what's required to sharpen and fettle the plane.

As to need...with your LAJ and BUjointer I don't consider this essential. However, it could be radiused for hogging off material like a scrub plane or it could be used as an all purpose smoother/jointer--doing neither as well as dedicated 4s or 7/8s. The Stanley #5 was the first plane I bought and I like them (and it has nostalgic value for me). Once I invested in other planes more suited for specific tasks, I realized why the #5 is call a "jack" plane: it's a jack of all trades but the master of none.