PDA

View Full Version : Need help on Color Fill

Todd Koopman
09-04-2012, 11:27 AM
I'm still fairly new at this, Lasering about 6 months now and trying all kinds of things. I have built my own Filtration box, works pretty good, get some smell yet, but am happy with it.
The question.... Am working on a project with 4" ceramic tiles. Lasering in a logo and lettering and then color filling them. Rub the color in with a Q-tip, then wipe it off. If I wipe it off to soon, the it wipes out some of the color fill, if I wait till it drys, then it's hard to wipe off. Am now waiting for it to dry then clean it off with a Scouring pad, but have had some fill rub out of the logo's.
Have read in the pass blogs where some one had mentioned about "Buffing" the tile........

I have also put a Tile Sealer over the finish products, both color fill and CerMark projects. Figure this will put on a nice seal.

Am open to suggestions.........have seen a lot of Trial & Error in this forum, time to ask the Professionals !

Todd

Martin Boekers
09-04-2012, 12:59 PM
First you can use a masking material and laser through it then fill. Some here have had success with spray paint.
What are you using to fill? I use Novus Fine Acrylic Polish on smooth hi-gloss wood, should work on tiles too.
LaserBits has some videos on You Tube that goes through fill processes, you may want to check them out.

Oh....and welcome to the SMC & use the search engine here as very few things have not been addressed here
before.

Todd Koopman
09-04-2012, 2:55 PM
First you can use a masking material and laser through it then fill. Some here have had success with spray paint.
What are you using to fill? I use Novus Fine Acrylic Polish on smooth hi-gloss wood, should work on tiles too.
LaserBits has some videos on You Tube that goes through fill processes, you may want to check them out.

Oh....and welcome to the SMC & use the search engine here as very few things have not been addressed here
before.