PDA

View Full Version : How do you use your bar gauge?

David Wadstrup
09-03-2012, 11:53 AM
Hello,

I have a rookie question. I've never used a bar gauge before, and was wondering if it is a tool I'd find useful. From what I've read, it seems that their primary purposes are for checking case squareness by comparing diagonals, and for comparing dimensions generally. (I also can see how they'd be useful when setting up work to be cut on table or miter saws, but I'm a hand tool only woodworker, and can't see how I could take advantage of this function.) Can anyone tell me what other uses they may be good for? Also, is there a way to use them to TRANSCRIBE or TRANSFER dimensions, rather than simply COMPARING them? This would be a very useful tool for me if so.

Thanks for your help,

David

Jim Koepke
09-03-2012, 12:19 PM
I built one for a particular use and haven't used it much since.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?151635-Inside-Measuring-Yard-Sticks

I find using scrap pieces to make story sticks more useful and a good record for a particular project especially if it is kept with any notes.

jtk

Jack Curtis
09-03-2012, 3:14 PM
What's a bar gauge?

paul cottingham
09-03-2012, 3:34 PM
I use mine all the time. Made them out of some ironwood flooring and the heads sold by LV. I hate measuring, and all the potential for error it introduces, so they are indispensable for me.

David Wadstrup
09-03-2012, 8:31 PM
I use mine all the time. Made them out of some ironwood flooring and the heads sold by LV. I hate measuring, and all the potential for error it introduces, so they are indispensable for me.

Thanks for responding, Paul. How exactly do you use them? Do you use them to transfer/transcribe measurements? If so, how? I'm finding out difficult to wrap my head around how, or if, this is done with this particular tool.

Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.

paul cottingham
09-03-2012, 11:31 PM