PDA

View Full Version : Walnut winged bowl, and reverse chucking problem

Moses Weisberg
08-29-2012, 5:44 PM
A friend of mine cut down a walnut tree and offered me some chunks, so I got straight to work.

It still needs a few more coats of finish, but the main problem I'm having is with reverse chucking. I don't have a vacuum chuck, and the powers that be wouldn't be appreciative of another tool showing up in the house. My usual method involves a sort of jam chuck that matches the inside curve and a whole lot of shrinkwrap. When I make winged bowls out of beetle-kill pine, I generally don't have to worry about bark, but I'd hate to knock any of this off. I know I can jury-rig some sort of donut chuck, or just use the tailstock until the last nub, but am I missing something obvious or effective?

Les Williams
08-29-2012, 6:07 PM
I am quite new to this but my thought is doughnut chuck with a pad like a jam chuck, it would keep the bark away from the back of the doughnut while you finish the foot.

Les

Roger Chandler
08-29-2012, 6:42 PM
I would encourage you to stabilize the bark with the application of some thin CA glue on the layer [cambium] connecting the bark to the sap wood. Let it dry for about 15 minutes and then also use a piece of old mouse pad or something similar to cushion the jam chuck on the inside of the bowl...........use adequate tailstock pressure and you should be able to turn the tenon off and take it to a small nub, which you can part off with a chisel or small saw........then sand.

I have stabilized bark on NE bowls and they are still intact after two years........no issues.

Thom Sturgill
08-29-2012, 7:05 PM
+1 to Roger's comment. Donut chucks are not NE friendly.

Curt Fuller
08-29-2012, 7:43 PM