PDA

View Full Version : Raptor Setup Tools

Hugh Cowart
08-28-2012, 11:50 AM
This is my first attempt at joining the forum. I purchased the Raptor Setup tool/jig's and have the following question. But first let me explain the frustration I have. The Raptor instructions state that they can be used to set the grinder/wolverine tool rest angle. After several attempts I could never get the proper angle as stated on the Raptor tool. I used the "tilt box" to determine the exact angle of the rest and here are my results - I will list the four Raptor settings and then what my "tilt box" angle showed. By the way the "tilt box" angle measurement can be determined by establishing a "zero" reference point which I did. What I want to know is whether anyone out there has taken the time to do this and what were your results? If you haven't checked it would you give it a try and let me know the what you find? When I use the compass to verify my tool angle it is correct. I am very reluctant to use the Raptor set up tool to set the grinder tool rest position.

Raptor "tilt box" difference

40 deg 40 degrees right on
45 deg 32.5 degrees 12.5 degree difference
50 deg 30 degrees 20 degree difference
60 deg 25 degrees 35 degree difference

Reed Gray
08-28-2012, 11:55 AM
I have one friend who got them, and his comment was that one of them was right on, and well, the others looked really nice hanging on the wall. I would not expect machine shop accuracy with any grinder tool rest, but close and repeatable should be easy.

robo hippy

Hugh Cowart
08-28-2012, 12:01 PM
;) Thanks Reed, that pretty much is in line with my findings. I hope others respond.

Jon Nuckles
08-28-2012, 12:10 PM