PDA

View Full Version : 2nd hand cut dovetail

Paul Sikorski
08-23-2012, 8:25 PM
So I originally posted on the general forum and got great advice. One of them being post here as you guys are the experts. So this is my second attempt at cutting dovetails by hand. My first attempt was pretty lame my second while improved not exactly pretty but I think it might actually be functional. So a couple things I have learned. Sharp chisels are a must ( I sharpened them before my second attempt what a difference). Going off advice offered earlier mark with a knife then a pencil ( the order there is important), Mark all four sides of each piece and mark the waste. Hang a big sign that says cut to the waste side of the line!! I bought a Japanese saw to use and so far so good I do like it. But I am just learning and willing to try and master this technique.
A couple things I still need though. Better lighting and a bench. One guy suggested getting the piece closer to eye level, I think he maybe on to something there what do you think of making a table top bench to accomplish this? I never really heard of one but Im open to any advice you guys can lend. Ill post a couple pictures so you can see what your working with I pretty much mark and cut the tails then use a coping saw to remove some waste, then pair back using a chisel to square things up.

george wilson
08-23-2012, 8:33 PM
I advise you to get some better wood to practice on. That real soft pine is not as easy to accurately saw than a harder wood. At LEAST use poplar if you want a cheap wood to practice on.

Paul Sikorski
08-23-2012, 9:00 PM
I advise you to get some better wood to practice on. That real soft pine is not as easy to accurately saw than a harder wood. At LEAST use poplar if you want a cheap wood to practice on.