PDA

View Full Version : Pattern bits for router.

Joe Hillmann
08-23-2012, 1:28 PM
I make 50 or so rubberband guns a week (sell at craft shows) out of 3/4 inch pine. The way I make them now involves the drill press, table saw, bandsaw and router. The turn out pretty good but there are differences between each one. I have never used pattern cutting router bit before, I think that if I made a pattern out of hardboard I could then use a pattern cutting bit to cut out the guns. So I guess my question is, would a pattern bit be able to cut through 3/4 pine without burning? Would it be faster or at least as fast as cutting on a bandsaw? And would it leave a nicer final cut then a bandsaw?

Stephen Cherry
08-23-2012, 1:47 PM
An inverted pin router could turn those out super fast without even half a thought.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?179770-Upside-down-gloat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmad-5JIqBc

They turn up from time to time at the auctions, craigslist, etc

Joe Hillmann
08-23-2012, 1:52 PM
Another question, to use the pattern bits does the outline of the piece of wood have to be somewhat close edge of the pattern? What I mean is do I have to cut the rough shape out on the band saw then use the pattern bit to get it perfect or can I skip the bandsaw all together?

Stephen Cherry
08-23-2012, 1:55 PM
with a pin router you can skip the bandsaw.

Stephen Cherry
08-23-2012, 2:00 PM
Here's a pattern of a bracket.

Peter Kelly
08-23-2012, 2:36 PM
Could also find someone with a CNC to cut the blanks out for you. Plenty of shops are slow these days.

Iturra Design also makes a pattern cutting jig that fits most 14" bandsaws.

pat warner
08-23-2012, 2:51 PM
"pattern bit be able to cut through 3/4 pine without burning?"
I suspect burning, whence cutting full thickness, should be expected in your pine.
The turns/twists and size of the work will make it difficult for you to minimize dwell and thus burning.