PDA

View Full Version : I need a backup for my epilog laser mini 24 30 watts

ram munukur
08-22-2012, 12:49 PM
Hello Guys,

I am new to engraving and this forum. I have a Epilog Mini 24 30 watts and very happy with the same. I do lots of vector cutting and engraving on MDF and plywood. I want to buy a laser engraver as back up and maybe when i have a big order, run both simultaneously. Recently i happened to see a Trotec speedy 300 working and i am very impressed at the built quality and job control. After reading different threads, i am under the impression that Trotec's are expensive compared to Epilog laser. But i just received a quote from the Trotec dealer in Mexico for a speedy 100 30 watts and its cheaper than epilog mini24 30 watts.

Now, do i buy another Epilog mini or take my chances with Trotec and go throught the learning curve and deal with two different vendors or just stick with epilog vendor.

Is there an advantage in having two of the same kind?

Michael Hunter
08-22-2012, 1:01 PM
Someone posted a long time ago that the Epilog Mini had better features than the Speedy 100.
Also, do you get Job Control with the Speedy 100, or is it an extra?
You need to check these things out before making a decision.

There are obvious advantages in having two machines the same, but the Trotecs are very good and, as you have found, are now cheaper than their Epilog equivalents.

My Epilog is getting old and I will probably go Trotec when the time comes and keep the Epilog going for dirty jobs.

Scott Shepherd
08-22-2012, 2:05 PM
The Speedy 100 comes with Job Control. There are 3 levels of the software, I believe the 100 comes with the Advanced version, not the basic, which is what the Rayjet comes with standard, I believe.

I can't think of a single feature on the Epilog that isn't on the Speedy, so I don't know what that's about. I do know that the Speedy 100 has a programmable Z-Axis and the Epilog does not.