PDA

View Full Version : Happysad bowl

Les Williams
08-19-2012, 3:24 PM
Happy 'cos i did it and sad 'cos it's not good.
Tear out & toolmarks - for some reason it would not get true? Cut the back, flipped it over re-trued the back as it had a bit of a ghost cut the front but it cut like it was 'off'................??????
Any ideas?
HOW LONG IS A PIECE OF STRING springs to mind??

Les

I always welcome criticism

Shellac as a sealer, wet sanded with teak oil and waxed with liberon polishing wax.

Jay Jolliffe
08-19-2012, 3:37 PM
I like the design...I'm just learning to turn & I had the same problem with a piece of Mahogany....I got tare out on the side like yours & I tried different tools, different angles couldn't get rid of it....So I also would like to know how to do it....

Jerry Marcantel
08-19-2012, 4:10 PM
The first lathe I had did that also. I always had tearout for no apparent reason. It took me over 25 years to discover what the problem was, and I should have seen it the first time I used it.
It was the drive pulley. It had a 5/8" ID and the motor had a 1/2" OD arbor. The 5/8 steel adapter was not correct, and I only discoverd it when the motor came to a stop about 3 years ago. I stopped using it, and got another lathe, and also finally replaced the pulley. It works fine now....... ... Jerry (in Tucson)

Les Williams
08-19-2012, 4:44 PM
The first lathe I had did that also. I always had tearout for no apparent reason.

Cheers Jerry, I hope it's nothing like that. I have turned in greenwood without the same problem and turned a small spinny top 2" tall 1 and 1/4" across - pointy finial - spins true, would have thought that would be a bit hard if the lathe was "off"?

Eric Gourieux
08-19-2012, 9:37 PM
Les,
tearout on the end grain is common. Using sharp tools and small, shallow cuts is the key. And sometimes a lot of sanding. As far as the lathe not running true, I won't be of any help. Good luck.

Thomas Canfield
08-19-2012, 9:42 PM