PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of buying a new jointer and need advice

Jay Bruckner
08-14-2012, 10:04 AM
Well, I have a 6" Jet jointer that I've been using for a few years and it's time to move up. It's frustrating to have a nice wide board and have to rip it in half just to joint it, so I'm looking to get a 12" Grizzly. I have a lot of big wide boards that I milled with my chainsaw and Alaskan jig, so I would be doing a lot of ripping unless I upgrade.

I'm really not crazy about spending the big money, and I'd prefer to get a smaller, lighter machine, but I don't think an 8" jointer is going to suffice, unless one of you have a top notch suggestion on how I can joint a 12" board on an 8" jointer.

I've also looked at this: http://www.finewoodworking.com/SkillsAndTechniques/SkillsAndTechniquesArticle.aspx?id=5245

Do any of you have any experience with using a sled like that with a planer to joint wide boards? It seems like it would be more trouble than just slapping the board down on the jointer and running it across, but how much more? Do you think it's worth it to save the cost of a 12" jointer?

Matthew Hills
08-14-2012, 10:15 AM
I'd also recommend taking a look at:
http://www.thewoodwhisperer.com/videos/milling-wide-boards/

Matt

Andrew Pitonyak
08-14-2012, 10:19 AM
It takes more time / effort to joint a board on a planer using a sled, but I don't own a jointer and I don't really have room for one either. If you want to get a feel for how it will work, take something flat (like some MDF or even a piece of plywood) and then make a simple sled. Attach a 1/4" piece along the front that you can push the board against (because the planer pushes the wood forward and you don't want it to be pushed off your sled).

Next, slap a wide piece of wood on there and shim it. Then how do you secure the shims? You can use hot melt glue or even painters tape I suppose.