PDA

View Full Version : Drying cabinet for turning blanks?

ian maybury
08-05-2012, 6:49 PM
I've just posted a question on dust collection when turning. The same friend has asked for some help with selecting and installing a set-up to dry turning blanks. Pardon my running two threads together.

I've some background understanding of drying processes and wood moisture content, but am wondering if you guys can offer some advice on how best to approach this question.

He has ready access to baulks of green timber (local ash, oak, elm and the like for the moment - but may well progress to fancier tropical stuff in due course), but no means of drying and/or maintaining stock or work in progress at the required moisture content. (whatever that is - it's presumably much like the situation in cabinetry where perhaps 8% moisture/45% relative humidity is in the ballpark)

The objective is to avoid nasty surprises - both while working, and for recipients of his work. He's not very experienced, but clearly there would not be much point is going with a set up that wouldn't cover reasonably foreseeable demands.

The sort of questions that come to mind include:

(a) Can turning blanks be kiln dried when more or less cut down to size, or is it necessary to dry the wood in larger logs and cut when dry?

(b) Is there possibly the option of running with a small cabinet sized personal kiln? One that could be operated by a guy who isn't into very fine technicalities? Is there possibly such a thing available on the market as a packaged unit? I'm familiar with the sort of humidity and temperature controlled cabinets used for testing in industry.

(c) Can dried blanks and work in progress be safely stored in a reasonably dry and warm workshop? Are there circumstances (e.g. weather conditions) where air conditioning is typically advisable ?