PDA

View Full Version : Sources of Wood

Greg Hairston
04-10-2005, 11:20 AM
I am just getting into turning and I am looking for bowl blanks. I went to a local wood supplier and their blanks were a bit expensive (IMHO) and all kiln dried. So my question is to all you bowl turners, turning these beautiful bowls, where do you get the wood.

Greg

Kurt Forbes
04-10-2005, 12:11 PM
from the side of the road :cool:

With the recent storms in your area you should have a ton of wood laying all over grab a chain saw and remember to offer to help the land owner out with clearing that nasty wood for him :)

Glenn Hodges
04-10-2005, 1:48 PM
Friday I spent some time with a land owner offering me 2 40 in. diameter sycamores with lots of red in them he had just cut down, a 40 ft. tall large persimmon, and lots of wild black cherry. I had to decline on the cherry because I have so much of it now. Greg, I will make him a free bowl from each tree he gives me. If you do this the word will get out and you will have more wood than you can use.

Jim Becker
04-10-2005, 3:04 PM
The only turning stock you really need to buy is exotics and burls...and maybe some species that don't grow in your area. Otherwise, there are tons of free sources. Get to know one or more local tree pros and keep your eyes open...there is great material "everywhere"...literally. Even in your firewood pile.

Raymond Overman
04-11-2005, 7:22 AM
Greg,

Any good amateur woodturner is also a good beggar. Ask and ye shall receive. As other's in this thread have mentioned, you can pick up turning stock from neighbors, tree pros, and even the dump in some areas. All you have to do is have a chainsaw and ask. Slab that local sawmills sell as firewood can make a nice platter or shallow bowl and is cheap for learning.