PDA

View Full Version : Some Florida Rosewood

Thom Sturgill
07-31-2012, 8:03 PM
A local mobile home community planted rosewood trees when they built their parks about 30 some years ago. They are now removing them and our club was able to get quite a bit of rosewood. (Some members formed a company to process most of the wood into kumber, but the club gets what they can't use.)

The two pieces were turned from the same limb section as the pith was quite off center. First was a Natural Edge bowl. 8 1/2" diameter and 5 1/2" high with a rattle can lacquer finish.

Then I decided to do something with the smaller piece. This is my first attempt at this form.

Not as happy with this one as I'd like. The 'board' has a bit of ripple as the worm screw was moving in the chuck and the platter was not stable. 9x12 'board' the bowl is 3" deep. Finished with rattle can lacquer. I'm taking it with me on an out-of-state trip this week and will refinish when I get back. (And probably try another of this form!)
C&C welcome.

Ron Stadler
07-31-2012, 8:10 PM
The platter is beautiful none the less, and the grain and color is gorgeous, very nice work.

Roger Chandler
07-31-2012, 8:14 PM
Nice NE bowls...........I like your idea on the last one.......too bad the worm screw allowed some wobble.........I have had that happen...........not fun!

Harry Robinette
07-31-2012, 9:13 PM
Beautiful work Thom.

charlie knighton
07-31-2012, 9:18 PM
i like both pieces, nice wood, i was straightening up a little and thought of you, went and dug out the mango, need to see what it looks like

John M. Smith
07-31-2012, 9:24 PM
Looks really nice Thom. I especially like the second one. I purchased a piece of spalted tamarind at the ohio symposium last year to make a similar piece, but have not gotten up the nerve to turn it. Spinning propeller and all.

Bernie Weishapl
07-31-2012, 9:25 PM
Really nice on all. I like'em.

Thom Sturgill
07-31-2012, 9:36 PM