PDA

View Full Version : S&W ProClassic? Wich one?

Rich Engelhardt
07-27-2012, 11:29 AM
I need some S&W trim paint in a specific S&W color.

It's for a bannister that gets a lot of wear.
The whole rest of the house is done w/that specific color and I need to stick with it.
I've never used the ProClassic before, but, since it's mentioned here quite often, I'm going to give it a try.

S&W has two different ones listed that are both Acrylic.
They list:
- Acrylic Latex
- Acrylic Alkyd

Which of the two is it that is the better?
My gut feeling is that it's the Acrylic Alkyd.

Jim Becker
07-27-2012, 11:33 AM
The one labeled "Acrylic Latex" is the one I'd use. It's 100% acrylic and a pleasure to use. Do note that it's not "latex" and I don't understand why they labeled it as such, outside of perhaps trying to convey that it's a water borne product. The "Acrylic Alkyd" is an oil-based paint. Nice, but harder cleanup. Do note that unless something has changed, you cannot get the product in a darker tint. If that is you need, the Benjamin Moore equivalent product can be had in dark tints.

Matt Meiser
07-27-2012, 11:55 AM
I used the water based one on a bookshelf for my mom in a fairly dark color. Kind of a blue-grey. Its really nice to work with and the books she's loaded on there didn't stick at all like they would have with latex.

Rich Engelhardt
07-27-2012, 1:33 PM
Both the Acrylic Latex and the Acrylic Alkyd are waterbased products. This is why I'm confused.

Matt Meiser
07-27-2012, 3:42 PM
Hmm...they might have made some changes since I used it then. I remember it being "100% acrylic" but unfortunately I don't have the can here. I'm thinking the Alkyd version is the newer one. The latex version talks about the lack of brush marks and non-stick features that I remember.

Jim Becker
07-29-2012, 9:53 PM
Both the Acrylic Latex and the Acrylic Alkyd are waterbased products. This is why I'm confused.