PDA

View Full Version : Metal routers vs. shop made wooden routers

Dustin Keys
07-27-2012, 10:40 AM
I've got a project coming up for which I will need a router and I would like to do it all with hand tools. I don't have a meat powered router though. As I'm fairly new to this and still in the constant process of acquiring the basic tools needed, I'm always looking for places to save some money and still get the job done properly. A wooden router seems to be a good place to do that as I already have lots of spare allen wrenches and some wood scraps laying around that are ideal for the project. Many of the tools I need are too complicated for a beginner like me to build successfully IMO, but the router looks like something that I could do a good job of relatively easily as it appears to be a very simple system.

My only hesitation is performance. Can I make a wooden router that will get the job done as well as an old Stanley or a new tool like the Veritas? My intention is to build something similar to Derek Cohen's that he posted on his website. I don't want to go through the trouble of building something that I'll ultimately decide leaves a lot to be desired and end up buying something else. If that's likely to be the outcome, I should just buy the metal one now. I'm thinking that it won't be an issue though and that the wooden router could work great for years to come, but wanted to ask those of you with more experience.

Thanks,
D

Jim Koepke
07-27-2012, 11:40 AM
Many of the tools I need are too complicated for a beginner like me to build successfully IMO, but the router looks like something that I could do a good job of relatively easily as it appears to be a very simple system.

My only hesitation is performance. Can I make a wooden router that will get the job done as well as an old Stanley or a new tool like the Veritas?

Some of my best learning experiences have come from things done that didn't work as planned.