PDA

View Full Version : New(ish) member

Matt Turner (physics)
07-26-2012, 1:09 AM
Hi all,

I've been lurking in the forums for a while, and have made a couple posts in the past, but Paul Phillips just outed me as a new member in one of the threads here, and our laser is finally on order, so I figured I'd introduce myself.

I'm actually a graduate student in experimental physics. I've been reading the forums a lot while deciding on what laser cutter specs to put in a proposal for an on-campus technology grant program. We were able to get funding this year for a Kern 4'x8' 400W CO2 laser system with the metal cutting option and a rotary attachment. We should be getting it in 9 to 11 weeks.

Paul asked what an experimental physicist does with such a laser. We're not exactly sure what we'll be doing with it, but we know that it will be a powerful tool and we'll make good use of it. We have actually sent out silicon (as in silicon wafer, not silicone) experiment parts to be laser machined before, since conventional machine tools would introduce unacceptable contaminants into the workpiece. I expect that we will be using the laser for contaminant-free machining and for cutting thin foils, as well as more standard uses such as cutting sheet metal and acrylic for enclosures. We've also got some ideas for some new processes to try. A YAG laser may have been a better match for some of our experimental parts, but the general versatility of a high-power CO2 laser seemed to make more sense for our proposal.

While we'll probably be working on different types of jobs and materials than most of you here, I've learned a lot about general laser use from reading this forum and I expect to be coming here for help and advice in the future. Thanks!

Rodne Gold
07-26-2012, 2:01 AM
Welcome