PDA

View Full Version : Carter Steady Rest

Andrew Kertesz
07-25-2012, 7:07 AM
It looks like the new Carter Steady Rest is now available. I know many saw it at the symposium and it looks well thought out. It carries a pretty hefty price tag of: $359.99. My only thought is why they only used 3 wheels instead of 4, or does it really matter. I have no experience using a steady rest but it just seems like 4 wheels would provide more support. Any thoughts on the quality of this rest?

Tim Rinehart
07-25-2012, 9:34 AM
The key roller in steady rests is the one on top. My "Jeff Nicols design" steady has 4 wheels and I typically need to remove the one at 10:30 when hollowing with captive rig/laser. I rig another wheel temporarily to be at 12:00 while that one wheel is away. I think there are some inherent advantages with 'more wheels', i.e 4 or more, especially as a piece starts getting larger, but for most of us, I think the 3 wheel versions are more than adequate and provide a good compromise with access while hollowing and projecting a laser.

Bernie Weishapl
07-25-2012, 10:03 AM
I have the Nicol steady and it has 4 wheels. The one at 10:00 on mine is moveable. So when I use the laser it is easily moved one way or the other and still have four wheels on the wood.

John Beaver
07-25-2012, 10:37 AM
I think you can put as many wheels on it as you like. You can also move the wheels to anywhere you want.
It's a very clever design.

Jerry Marcantel
07-25-2012, 12:43 PM
It could be that a tripod is the most stable thing on the planet. It's self stabalizing, easy and quick to set up. You also don't have that wheel in the way of the laser...... . Heck, Oneway steadies only have 2 wheels, and they work pretty good, otherwise they wouldn't be selling them. That's my 2 cents..... Jerry (in Tucson).

Thom Sturgill
07-25-2012, 1:13 PM